What to read next. . . Again!


Every week or so, I receive random emails and messages from SFF fans requesting recommendations regarding what to read next. Most of them ask me about finished series or stand-alone novels, hopefully available in paperback format.

So again, here's my little list of the usual suspects:

- The Godless World by Brian Ruckley

- Winterbirth (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Bloodheir (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Fall of Thanes (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn by Tad Williams

- The Dragonbone Chair (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Stone of Farewell (Canada, USA, Europe)
- To Green Angel Tower part 1 (Canada, USA, Europe)
- To Green Angel Tower part 2 (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Gap Saga by Stephen R. Donaldson

- The Real Story (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Forbidden Knowledge (Canada, USA, Europe)
- A Dark and Hungry God Arises (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Chaos and Order (Canada, USA, Europe)
- This Day All Gods Die (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Coldfire Trilogy by C. S. Friedman

- Black Sun Rising: Canada, USA, Europe
- When True Night Falls: Canada, USA, Europe
- Crown of Shadows: Canada, USA, Europe

- Anything by Guy Gavriel Kay

The Fionavar Tapestry

- The Summer Tree (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Wandering Fire (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Darkest Road (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Tigana (Canada, USA, Europe)

- A Song for Arbonne (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Lions of Al-Rassan (Canada, USA, Europe)

The Sarantine Mosaic

- Sailing to Sarantium (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Lord of Emperors (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Last Light of the Sun (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Beyond this Dark House (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Ysabel (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Under Heaven (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Carrie Vaughn's Kitty Norville series:

- Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty Goes to Washington (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty Takes a Holiday (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty and the Silver Bullet (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty Raises Hell (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty's House of Horrors ( Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty Goes to War (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty's Big Trouble (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Kitty Steals the Show (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Book of All Hours by Hal Duncan

- Vellum (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Ink (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Cassandra Kresnov series by Joel Shepherd

- Crossover (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Breakaway (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Killswitch (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Jump 225 Trilogy by David Louis Edelman

- Infoquake (Canada, USA, Europe)
- MultiReal (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Geosynchron (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Black Company by Glen Cook

- Chronicles of the Black Company (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Books of the South (Canada, USA, Europe.)
- The Return of the Black Company (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Many Deaths of the Black Company (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Otherland by Tad Williams

- City of Golden Shadow: Canada, USA, Europe
- River of Blue Fire: Canada, USA, Europe
- Mountain of Black Glass: Canada, USA, Europe
- Sea of Silver Light: Canada, USA, Europe

- The Magisters Trilogy by C. S. Friedman

- Feast of Souls (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Wings of Wrath (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Legacy of Kings (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Prince of Nothing by R. Scott Bakker

- The Darkness that Comes Before (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Warrior-Prophet (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Thousandfold Thought (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Saga of Recluce by L. E. Modesitt, jr.

- The Magic of Recluce (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Towers of the Sunset (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Magic Engineer (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Order War (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Death of Chaos (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Fall of Angels (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Chaos Balance (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The White Order (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Colors of Chaos (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Magi'i of Cyador (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Scion of Cyador (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Wellspring of Chaos (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Ordermaster (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Natural Ordermage (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Mage-Guard of Hamor (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Deryni Saga by Katherine Kurtz

The Chronicles of the Deryni

- Deryni Rising (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Deryni Checkmate (Canada, USA, Europe)
- High Deryni (Canada, USA, Europe)

The Legends of Camber of Culdi

- Camber of Culdi (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Saint Camber (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Camber the Heretic (Canada, USA, Europe)

The Histories of King Kelson

- The Bishop's Heir (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The King's Justice (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Quest for Saint Camber (Canada, USA, Europe)

The Heirs of Saint Camber

- The Harrowing of Gwynedd (Canada, USA, Europe)
- King Javan's Year (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Bastard Prince (Canada, USA, Europe)

King Kelson's Bride (Canada, USA, Europe)

In the King's Service (Canada, USA, Europe)

Childe Morgan (Canada, USA, Europe)

Deryni Anthologies

- The Deryni Archives (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Deryni Magic (Canada, USA, Europe)
- Deryni Tales (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen R. Donaldson

- Lord Foul's Bane (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Illearth War (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The Power that Preserves (Canada, USA, Europe)

- The Wounded Land (Canada, USA, Europe)
- The One Tree (Canada, USA, Europe)
- White Gold Wielder (Canada, USA, Europe)

- Something by Roger Taylor

The Chronicles of Hawklan

- The Call of the Sword (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt
- The Fall of Fyorlund (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt
- The Waking of Orthlund (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt
- Into Narsindal (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Dream Finder (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Farnor (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Valderen (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Whistler (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Ibryen (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Arash-Felloren (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

Caddoran (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt

The Return of the Sword (Canada, USA, Europe) Excerpt
---------------------

This should keep you guys busy for a little while. . . ;-) If not, then you are shit out of luck!!! :P

13 commentaires:

ghayenga said...

Science Fiction - The Cassandra Kresnov series by Joel Shepherd

Fantasy - The Black Company by Glen Cook

Kevin B said...

I'm glad to see Joel Shepherd on that list. He's greatly underappreciated IMO. His Cassandra Kresnov series, though a bit rough in a new author sort of way, are great.

His Trial of Blood and Steel tetralogy, however, is one of my favorite series ever. Brilliant epic fantasy in a low-magic world filled with political intrigue, epic battles and flashing sword duels told through the eyes of a kick-ass, young, female protagonist with a realistic complexity and maturity.

The first book in the series is merely 'really good' and it ramps up from there.

Ripper Madness said...

going down the list is like a best of my favorites and then I see at the end this Roger Taylor person who I have never heard of nor read. Awesome! Someone new to peep out and read. Thanks again :)

Anonymous said...

I am pleasantly surprised to see you mention Taylor's Chronicles of Hawklan. I read those books years and years ago as a teenager and enjoyed them immensely at the time. I found Dream Finder the best of rest.

Anonymous said...

Ahhh, MS&T. Couldn't agree more.

Dominc Cilli said...

Thanks for this list. There are a few things on it I haven't read. If you dont mind I have several that I would add that I feel you and several other people would love.

Brent Weeks: The Night Angel Trilogy

Brandon Sanderson: Anything but especially the Mistborn Trilogy

Every word Steven Erikson has ever written on a piece of paper.But as far as done goes "the malazan Book of the Fallen"

Go more with Joe Abercrombie: Not including The entire First Law Trilogy is an omission.

Tad Williams Shadowheart

The Warded Man Trilogy Peter V Brett (book 3 not out yet so maybe no)

Robin Hobb: The Farseer Trilogy and the Liveship Trilogy.

Peter Hamilton: Commonwealth saga and Void trilogy. (sci-fi, but you did include "Otherland")

The Stormlord Trilogy: Glenda Larke

I hope this helps..

Anonymous said...

"Osama" by Lavie Tidhar

Sebastián González Martínez said...

Great list!

Tad Williams and "Tigana" by Guy Gavriel Kay, absolutely recommended!!!

Anonymous said...

the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher

Patrick Rothfuss' The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man's Fear

Raymond Feist's Magician novels

Ken Schole's Psalms of Isaak series

charley said...

Pat, Where the hell is Robin Hobb for your list?!

CJohnson said...

Pat, if you've never read them, you need to give Michelle West's Sun Sword series a go. Some of the best fantasy I've ever read

Ripper Madness said...

I just finished reading the first Hawklan novel by Taylor, THE CALL OF THE SWORD. He had me at Hello, hah! Seriously though now I'm hooked. Today I just received the rest of the novels, thank you Amazon. Thanks again for the recommendations Pat! You've turned me on to so many authors or made me go back and re-read authors I gave up on long ago. My bookshelves are overflowing, and I'm in my Happy Place. Unfortunately my wallet would like to have a word with you.

Thanks again!

Ripper Madness said...

I just finished reading the first Roger Taylor novel, THE CALL OF THE SWORD. This book was short but hooked me almost immediately. I just received the rest of the Taylor novels from Amazon. Thanks Pat! My brain and my bookshelves are overflowing with all the books and novels you've turned me on to. Unfortunately my wallet would like to have a word with you (unfortunately he can get a bit cranky from time to time).

Thanks again!